Thread: Turbo charging your KA

Page 1 of 35 12311 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Turbo charging your KA 
    Zippy69 is offline vroom....whoosh!!! Men with guts attack those corners...
    This is to help dispel some of the myths with a KA-T set up.
    There is tons of info on the interwebs, so I will not be linking to other sites or pasting pages from other sites and ask that no one else waste the bandwidth either.
    Ok, now to the business at hand.
    All of the information I will relay is from PERSONAL EXPERIENCE , not hearsay or what I heard from Fred's third cousin's best friends ex-girlfriends brother's best friend. I counted it up and I have personally built 7 KA-T set ups and have helped with countless others. I'm not an expert, but I have been around the block and have gotten my hands dirty. I'm not a "keyboard" mechanic, I have actually done it.
    The KA is a very tough, reliable engine that can made into a powerful performer with the addition of a turbo charger.
    On that same note, it can be made into a huge headache if done poorly.
    We have all heard how the KA is a huge piece of junk that should be scrapped as soon as you have an opportunity to swap it out. This is not true.
    Of all the failed attempts at a KA-T set up, all I have seen personally were due to poor tuning or builder error.
    The first step for a turbo set up is to decide on your power goal and what you are going to use the car for. For drag and a fast street car, the KA is full of potential waiting to be unleashed by a good turbo set up. Personally, I don't like a KA for drifting due to the fact that it just wasn't built for high rpm's. This is not a flaw in the KA design, just a difference in what it was made for.
    There are several set ups that work well for a KA-T, but they all require proper tuning. Any engine will blow without proper tuning, even a normally aspirated engine.